Posted on Leave a comment

NVQ Requirement: Prepare for the 2024 CSR Card Deadline

NVQ Requirement: Prepare for the 2024 CSR Card Deadline

1. New NVQ Qualification Requirement

The Construction Skills Register (CSR) now mandates that skilled cardholders and above must hold an NVQ qualification (or an equivalent) to renew their CSR card by 31 December 2024. This change aims to align CSR with the Construction Leadership Council’s (CLC) One Industry Logo requirements, ensuring that CSR cards remain accepted in Great Britain (GB).

2. Reason for the Change

The primary motivation behind this alteration is to maintain consistency and compliance across the industry. By requiring NVQ qualifications, CSR ensures that cardholders possess the necessary skills and knowledge to contribute effectively to construction projects.

3. Available Options for Cardholders

Cardholders have several options to meet the new qualification requirement:

  • Accepted Qualifications: Cardholders can verify if they already hold an accepted qualification, such as apprenticeships, overseas qualifications, or construction-related degrees.
  • NVQ Level 2: If cardholders do not have an accepted qualification, they must register for and complete an NVQ Level 2. This qualification demonstrates practical competence and expertise in their specific trade.

4. Grants for Employers

For levy-paying employers, the Construction Industry Training Board Northern Ireland (CITBNI) may provide grants to support staff registration for NVQs. These grants encourage skill development and enhance the overall quality of the construction workforce.